Monday, May 10, 2021 Zoom Virtual Meeting 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

OPENING SESSION 2:00 – 2:05 p.m.

1. Approval of the Agenda Bill Flanagan

2. Comments from the Chair (no documents)

Bill Flanagan

CONSENT AGENDA 2:05 – 2:10 p.m.

[If a member has a question or feels that an item should be discussed, they should notify the Secretary to GFC, in writing, two business days or more in advance of the meeting so that the relevant expert can be invited to attend.]

3. Approval of the Open Session Minutes for April 12, 2021 Bill Flanagan

ACTION ITEMS 2:10 - 2:40 p.m.

4. Establishment of the GFC Committee on the Documentation of Indigeneity (CDI) Melissa Padfield Chris Andersen

Motion: To Recommend General Faculties Council Approval Motion: To Recommend General Faculties Council Approval

5. Proposed Changes to the Terms of Reference for the GFC Academic Kate Peters Planning Committee and the Proposed Disbanding of the GFC Brad Hamdon Undergraduate Awards and Bursaries Committee.

Motion: To Recommend General Faculties Council Approval

DISCUSSION ITEMS 2:40 - 3:30 p.m.

6. Executive ad hoc Governance and Procedural Review Committee Moin Yahya
Brad Hamdon

7. Teaching, Learning, and Evaluation Policy John Nychka

8. FGSR Graduate Supervisory Initiatives Brooke Milne

DISCUSSION & ACTION ITEMS 3:30 – 3:45 p.m.

9. Recommendations of the Committee of the Whole Bill Flanagan

Motion: To Recommend General Faculties Council Approval

DISCUSSION ITEMS

10. Question Period Bill Flanagan

ACTION ITEMS 3:45 – 4:00 p.m.

11. Draft Agenda for the Next Meeting of General Faculties Council

Bill Flanagan

Motion: To Approve with Delegated Authority

INFORMATION REPORTS

12. Items Approved by the GFC Executive Committee by email ballots (no items to date)

CLOSING SESSION

13. Adjournment

Next Meeting of EXEC: June 14, 2021Next Meeting of GFC: June 7, 2021

Presenter(s):

Kate Peters GFC Secretary and Manager, GFC Services

Melissa Padfield Vice-Provost and Registrar
Chris Andersen Dean, Faculty of Native Studies

Bill Flanagan President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Alberta

Brad Hamdon General Counsel and University Secretary

Moin Yahya Professor

Brooke Milne Vice-Provost and Dean

John Nychka

Vice-Provost (Learning Initiatives), Chair GFC Committee on the Learning

Environment

Steven Dew Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Meeting REGRETS to: Heather Richholt, 780-492-1937, richholt@ualberta.ca Prepared by: Heather Richholt, 780-492-4733, peters3@ualberta.ca

University Governance <u>www.governance.ualberta.ca</u>