EDI Public Transparency Statement

The University of Alberta intends to nominate an individual for an CIHR CRC Tier 1 using the emergency retention mechanism.

The individual has received an offer from another Canadian university as a CRC Tier 1 nominee. This individual's research is important to the University's strategic research priorities in science, technology, and the environment. The emergency retention mechanism will be used to match the competitive offer from the other university.

The University of Alberta has taken its equity and diversity targets into consideration for this decision.

This transparency statement has been posted to fulfill the requirements of the Canada Research Chairs Program (<u>https://www.chairs-chaires.gc.ca/program-programme/equity-equite/recruitment-recrutement-eng.aspx</u>).

This very exceptional circumstance was examined and approved by the University of Alberta's CRC Allocation Committee composed of Dr. Kathryn Todd, Deputy Provost (<u>kgtodd@ualberta.ca</u>); Dr. Vena Yiu, Provost & Vice President (Academic) (<u>pvpa@ualberta.ca</u>); and Dr. Aminah Fayek Robinson Vice President of Research and Innovation (<u>vpri@ualberta.ca</u>).

For questions or concerns regarding this nomination, please contact Dr. Kathryn Todd, Deputy Provost. The email address for Dr. Todd is <u>kgtodd@ualberta.ca</u>.

Date Posted: February 19, 2025