



308 Campus Tower, 8625 – 112 St Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G IK8

Tel: 780.492.0459 Fax: 780.492.9429 reoffice@ualberta.ca www.reo.ualberta.ca

## **REB 4: HREB - BIOMEDICAL PANEL COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

Member	Specialty
Dr. Shane Kimber (Chair)	Medicine - Cardiology
Dr. Glen Pearson (Assoc.Chair)	Pharmacy, Cardiology
Dr. Don Morrish (Assoc.Chair)	Medicine - Endocrinology
Dr. Robert Rennie (Assoc.Chair)	Laboratory Medicine & Pathology (alternate to Dr. Don Morrish)
Dr. Anthony Joyce (Assoc. Chair)	Psychiatry (alternate to Dr. Glen Pearson and Dr. Don Morrish)
Dr. Ian Adatia	Pediatric Cardiology
Dr. Jeffrey Burton	Medicine - Cardiology
Dr. Carlos Cervera Alvarez	Medicine - Infectious Diseases
Dr. Tom Churchill	Surgery
Mr. Murray Douglas	Community Member (alternate to Leola Hildebrandt)
Dr. Sunil Desai	Pediatric Oncology/Hematology
Dr. Fabrizio Giuliani	Neurology
Ms. Leola Hildebrandt	Community Member (Alternate to Ev. Wright and Murray Douglas)
Ms. Kaitlynd Hiller	Bioethics/Community Member
Dr. Nadia Jahroudi	Medicine - Nephrology
Dr. Paul Jurasz	Pharmacology
Dr. Lynn Klein	Covenant Health Representative, Clinical Care
Dr. Jean-Michelle Le-Melledo	Psychiatry
Dr. Diana Mager	Clinical Nutrition, Member knowledgeable in Complementary Alternative Medicine
Dr. David Marchant	Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Dr. Wayne Martin	Medicine – Neurology
Mr. Pavel Medvedev	Clinical Informatics
Ms. Catherine Miller	Community Member/Member knowledgeable in the law (alternate to Ms. Maureen Towns)
Ms. Carol Nahorniak	Member Knowledgeable in Ethics
Dr. Alvaro Osornio-Vargas	Pediatrics, Member knowledgeable in Complementary Alternative Medicine
Ms. Kathryn Rankin	Pediatrics
Dr. Laurie Russell	Laboratory Medicine & Pathology
Dr. Lalit Saini	Oncology, Hematology
Dr. Jane Schulz	Obstetrics, Member knowledgeable in Complementary Alternative Medicine
Dr. Maeve Smith	Medicine - Pulmonary
Dr. Kim Solez	Laboratory Medicine & Pathology
Dr. Linda Sun	Medicine - Hematology
Ms. Maureen Towns	Community Member/Member knowledgeable in the Law (alternate to Ms. Catherine Miller)
Ms. Marta Tsoukalas	Nursing
Ms. Ev Wright	Community Member (alternate to Leola Hildebrandt)







## Ad Hoc Reviewers (non-voting):

Dr. Georg Schmolzer	Pediatrics - Neonatology
Ex-Officio (non-voting):	
Ms. Ann Moore	Research Ethics Office
Ms. Melanie Sulymka	Research Ethics Office
Ms. Patricia Lo	Research Ethics Office
Ms. Kim Kordov	Research Ethics Office

The membership of the Health Research Ethics Board – Biomedical Panel complies with the membership requirements for Research Ethics Boards as defined in Division 5 of the Food and Drug Regulations and the Tri-Council Policy Statement for the Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (2014). The HREB – Biomedical Panel carries out its functions in a manner consistent with Good Clinical Practices.

Members of the Health Research Ethics Board, who are named as Investigators in research studies, do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented to the committee.

Revised February 1, 2019