

Terms of Reference

The Department of Medicine's Undergraduate Medical Education Committee (UMEC) is charged with advising the Department Chair on policy and procedural matters relating to undergraduate education, and with responsibility for planning, coordinating, and evaluating the Department's undergraduate 3rd and 4th year Medicine Clerkship rotations - MED 546 & 556. The Chair of the Committee reports directly to the Department Chair.

Function

- 1. To engage in planning, coordinating, and evaluating the 3rd (Med 546) year & 4th year (MED 556) undergraduate education programs within the Department of Medicine.
- 2. To develop, evaluate, and regularly update learning objectives for the Internal Medicine component of Med 546 and those for the Year 4 Selectives Programme (MED 556).
- **3.** To develop effective methods for evaluating the performance of students in both clinical skills and practical knowledge, and to advise the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education with respect to students whose performance is inadequate.
- **4.** To evaluate the teaching units / learning environments regularly and to work with the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education to improve and enhance teaching units / learning environments which may be experiencing difficulties in achieving objectives.
- **5.** Regularly reviewing student feedback provided via Web Eval to identify problems in undergraduate education and to propose solutions to these problems.
- **6.** Via the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education, establish and maintain effective communication with the Academic Standings Advisory Committee and Clerkship Coordinators Committee of the Faculty of Medicine.
- 7. Regularly review student performance on examinations and provide recommendations regarding possible remedial action and/or re-write of written examinations.
- **8.** To assist the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education in coordinating the rotation of students through Med 546.
- **9.** To assist the Year 4 Selectives Coordinator in coordinating the rotation of students through MED 556.
- **10.** To assist the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education in developing effective and efficient methods of teacher / rotation evaluation for the purposes of (a) improving teaching and (b) making administrative decisions about promotion, tenure, and merit increments.
- **11.** To develop methods improving teaching in the Department.

12. To foster an environment for and support the participation in Research in Medical Education

Undergraduate Medical Education Committee Composition

The Chair of the Undergraduate Medical Education Committee is the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education, who is appointed by the Department Chair.

Position / Title	Name
Director, Undergraduate Medical Education Program, Department of Medicine (Chair; Voting; Tie Breaking)	Dr. S. Caldwell
Director of Postgraduate Education, Department of Medicine (Voting)	Dr. D. Rolfson
OSCE Coordinator, Department of Medicine (Voting)	Dr. F. Morales
1 to 2 members appointed by the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education for a 2-year term (Voting)	Dr. E. Yacyshyn (July 1/10 – June 30/12) Dr. S Smith (August 22/11 – July 21/12)
Chief Resident / Associate Chief Resident, Department of Medicine (Voting)	As determined by PGME
Medical Education leader/PTP: RAH Medical Education leader/PTP: GNH Medical Education leader/PTP: UAH Medical Education leader/PTP: MIS (all Voting)	Dr. R. Khurana (Mar 1/08 to Feb 28/12) Dr. G. Ramsay (Sep 1/08-June 30/12) Dr. F. Morales (Mar 1/07-July 31/12) Dr. P. Guo (Sep 1/08 – July 31/13)
Year 4 Selectives Coordinator (Voting)	Dr. A. Lazarescu
Manager, Office of Medical Education Department of Medicine (Voting)	Ms. Doris Kurtz

Medical Education Program Assistants from the Teaching Sites	Ms. C. Heathcote: GNH Ms. C Hlady: RAH/UAH
(Non – Voting)	Ms. T Gargan: UAH Ms. L. McCreath: MIS
Director;	Dr Liam Rourke PhD
Medical Education Research (Non-Voting) 2 Medical student representatives from 3 rd and 4 th year	SI M Jiang (Class of 2012)
(Voting)	SI S Husak (Class of 2013)
Chair of the Department of Medicine: honorary member (Non-Voting)	Dr. B. Ballermann

Quorum

A quorum consists of 50% of the voting membership.

Schedule of MeetingsMeetings are held on an as needed basis, at least following the completion of each flight of Students rotating in 3rd year.